Risks in buying panchayaty approved land

(Querist) 23 August 2014 This query is : Resolved 
Respected Sirs,

I am going to buy a private land near vizag(40km from vizag city).Since i am new to Real Estate i dont have any knowledge in this. Now i want to purchase a land of 700 square yards. the land comes under Panchayati. It is not approved by VUDA. It is agricultural land.
Since the cost is less compared to the VUDA approved lands in locality,I am willing to purchase that. So kindly let me know what are the risks in buying panchayaty lands and also the necessary documents to be verified. If i want to build house in this land after 5 to 7years will i get any problems for residential approvals? The Land is 300 meters from Highway. Kindly guide me in this regard. I am waiting for your replays.Thank you so much for your suggestions.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 24 August 2014
Engage a local lawyer to guide and advise you properly.
However, panchayati land can not be sold nor it should be purchased, you will never get title (ownership right).
malipeddi jaggarao (Expert) 24 August 2014
YOu should always prefer to purchase the land for construction of house in VUDA approved layouts. If you purchase the agricultural land, for construction of house, you need conversion certificate (from agriculture to residential) from the competent revenue authority. Unless the entire area is developed into residential plots, the revenue authorities may not give conversion certificate. The entire land in the vicinity of Visakhapatnam is under Urban Aglomeration and VUDA approval is necessary for layout approvals.
The land is adjacent to Highway by 300 meters. Recently there is announcement by Chief Minister of AP that NH5 (Chennai-Howrah) road which is presently 4lane road, will be converted into 10 line road.
Please keep in mind the above suggestions before you go ahead with your proposal.
prabhakar singh (Expert) 24 August 2014
you are adequately advised and need to inquire if you can buy at all agriland as pe law of the state.
ajay sethi (Expert) 24 August 2014
contact a local lawyer . dont take any decision of purchase of said land without his consent
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 24 August 2014
show all papers to a local lawyer and go by his advice..
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 27 August 2014
Take an opinion from a local lawyer who is conversant with the local laws and rules in this aspect, as per his advise you can make a call.