Pagadi tenants accomodation

(Querist) 08 October 2015 This query is : Resolved 
My grand father was a Tenant in KDMC Premises. He is dead now and I am staying with My father as Tenant since 65 Years now. Our residential is gone under Dhoka Dayak and we have received the Notice from KDMC to Leave the premises under Dhoka Dayak law. We have receive the Notice since 2 years now. The owner claims he is going to redevelop/Rehab the Place but will charge us Redevelop/Rehab Charges at 1500 per Sq FT. and Even after paying the charges this will be under Rented property only. He also claims we cannot sell the property it can only be rented out. we have 300 sq ft place and he is willing to give only 7lacs which is at prime location in kalyan. now market costing at 8000 per sq ft.he says its a rented place and hence noting can be done please guide. My owner has yet not started even to re-develop the premises.
Kishor Mehta (Expert) 08 October 2015

If you have valid rent receipts of the premises, then you are protected under Maharashtra Rent Control Act 1999. If the building is to be demolished, for any reason, you have a right to demand an alternative place of accommodation.

In case of redevelopment the landlord can not demand any charges for redevelopment. On the contrary he has to offer you alternate accommodation for the duration of redevelopment of the old building. He has to hand over a residence of equal carpet area to you without any charge after the redevelopment.

Consult an advocate in your own interest.

Good Luck,
Kishor Mehta
malipeddi jaggarao (Expert) 09 October 2015
Well advised my expert Mr.Kishor Mehta.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 09 October 2015
Agree with the expert Kishore Mehta.
K.S.Srinivas (Expert) 13 October 2015
Agreed with Sri Kishore Mehta.
K.S.Srinivas (Expert) 13 October 2015
Agreed with Sri Kishore Mehta.