Consumer forum

(Querist) 22 April 2017 This query is : Resolved 
I wish to file a complaint with the consumer forum against a Builder with whom I have booked a flat and have till now paid an amount of about 50 lacs. The total cost of the property is Rs.1.25 Cr. I am not interested in taking possession of the property and want Refund of the amount paid to the Builder since the Project has certain deffeciencies.

Would like to know whether it's the State or the National Commission's jurisdiction? I've been informed that there is a recent amendment in the act which makes it the National Commission's jurisdiction.

P. Venu (Expert) 23 April 2017
You can find the answer from the Consumer Protection Act.
Guest (Expert) 23 April 2017
Agreed with Experts
R.K Nanda (Expert) 23 April 2017
contact local lawyer.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 23 April 2017
You have to approach state forum as the claim is less than one crore.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 23 April 2017
In recent past, there is no amendment in pecuniary jurisdiction of the consumer fora, which is 20 lakh, less than 1 cr and above for district consumer disputes redressal forum, state consumer disputes redressal commission and national consumer disputes redressal commission respectively.
If there is some amendment please enlighten.
Ms.Usha Kapoor (Expert) 24 April 2017
AGREE WITH EXPERTS.
Ashish (Querist) 24 April 2017
Thanks for the information ! My advocate says it's the National commission's jurisdiction, please check the below citations and guide :

1.Parikshit Parashar v/s United Buildwell

2.Santosh Arya v/s Emaar MGF

Ashish (Querist) 24 April 2017
Thanks for the information ! My advocate says it's the National commission's jurisdiction, please check the below citations and guide :

1.Parikshit Parashar v/s United Buildwell

2.Santosh Arya v/s Emaar MGF

Guest (Expert) 24 April 2017
If not an academic query, what kind of deficiencies in project? Deficiencies in project and deficiencies in service are two different things.
Ashish (Querist) 25 April 2017
Actually, the Project doesn't have Electricity from the Board and the same is being supplied thru Gensets at a comparatively higher rate, several patches within the township are still not under the builder's possession, Occupancy certificate is yet to be obtained and it's a bare flat with NO finishing like Paint, flooring, woodwork, air conditioning, wiring, etc.