We have recently celebrated the Independence Day of India and we proudly say that we have completed 66 years and have been free since 1947. Independence day is a big day and a matter of great pride and importance for each one of us who believes that we are Indian and belong to India. But the real question is, are we free now or we are yet to achieve our freedom in lot many senses?

Our country got freedom in 1947 and since then we have been allowed by the Constitution of India to live a free life and enjoy the freedom of all things that we want to do. But if we carefully analyse have we got the freedom in real sense? Or is it being used by selected few who have enough power to exploit us and the country?

I would like to just talk about basic and fundamental rights that our Constitution gives us and how well is it being followed or allowed to be followed in our own country.

1. Right to equality – The most important right probably which means to be treated at par and freedom from discrimination on any ground including race, caste, sex, etc. But in true sense what are we getting? Infact every person is being treated unequally on various grounds, right from sex to caste, position to money power and what not. There are laws being made for reservation and quotas all around and we are boasting of right to equality – where is it and who is getting it?

2. Right to freedom of speech and expression – Another important right that the citizens are given and probably this gives the true test of the success of the democracy and constitution. Yes we are a democratic country and probably we do have much more rights to speak and express anything than many other countries, but still is that enough? If a common man like you and me says anything, we can be pulled by anyone on any grounds (for example a minister may not like my comments or for that matter pictures cannot be made just because some parties want to gain footage out of it). We are in the age of twitter and whatsapp but we still fear what we say may be construed in wrong sense anywhere. The real freedom of speech is enjoyed by only two classes of people in the country – one is political parties and other is media. Political parties go to any extent to say against each other and use any kind of abusive language, but agar wo karein to desh ki bhalai aur hum kare to hum mein sanskar nahi.. The other is media – what coverage and reach they have and they can make maximum use of their power to exploit anyone on this earth. In a day they can make or break anyone. What are we getting?

3. Right to freedom of religion – I need not say much about it. We all know that each religion has its own importance and that every religion preaches the same thing – DO GOOD FOR THE MANKIND. But inspite of being educated and qualified, people like us fail to believe this simple principle and others take advantage of this and there are riots, hatred, quotas, restrictions and what not. Is this what religion is meant for or being religious is more important than being human?

4. Right against exploitation – I never knew we even had this right in our Constitution! Infact I used to feel that the Constitution specifies exactly the opposite – RIGHT TO EXPLOIT AND TO BE EXPLOITED. From top level to bottom, from CEO to chaprasi, political or private arena, everywhere there is just exploitation. The main reason behind this is we getting exploited which means that the moment I am exploited, I would like to get that frustration out and ensure that I also exploit somebody, the degree may change. Everyone is being exploited and also equally responsible for exploiting others. Who should be held responsible for this – the country or countrymen?

5. Right to education – Among the above mentioned rights, it may not sound to be of great importance to any of us. But just imagine if you were not educated today, would you have got so much power, progress, name, fame and money? It is because of EDUCATION mainly (I do agree other things also matter). The real need for education is for those who cannot learn to read and write because of lack of facilities but what are we doing for the same? Infact we are also not educated, we are just literate. We, the citizens of India can read and write, but cannot look beyond it and understand basic principles of life, religion, freedom, etc. So how can we be called as educated?

One of our Bollywood movies had said that – Koi bhi desh perfect nahi hota, use banana padta hai” (No country is perfect; we have to strive to make it one). I do agree on the above but how much are we trying and against whom are we trying? Do we have time, resources, power, FREEDOM, protection to do so? It is high time friends to decide and think seriously – Are we celebrating 66 years of our independence or we are still 66 years away from our true independence, the independence of humanity and mankind.

Jai Hind!!

By: Dipesh

"Loved reading this piece by Guest?
Join LAWyersClubIndia's network for daily News Updates, Judgment Summaries, Articles, Forum Threads, Online Law Courses, and MUCH MORE!!"

Tags :

Category Others, Other Articles by - Guest 

Comments

update